In most states, Georgia included, a business license is required to legally run and operate your business within your county. Georgia provides a relatively simple application and requirements for you to obtain licensing for your business. Obtain your business license before you actually start accepting payments for your services or product being sold to avoid any penalties. In Georgia, the process of obtaining your business license takes less than 30 days.
When filling out your business license application, you must have a physical address where the businesses will operate. A P.O. Box cannot be used. Your business address can be your home address if it is a home-based business.
Employer Identification Number
Georgia requires you to have an employer identification number if you hire employees and pay taxes to the Internal Revenue Service. An EIN is a free, nine-digit number issued by the IRS. Obtain your EIN by going to the IRS’ website, or you can contact an IRS agent over the phone to apply for an EIN. The number to the IRS is 1-800-829-1040.
When applying for a business license, the application will ask you how much money you expect to make during the current year of operation. The amount you claim will determine how much your taxes will be for the first year. Georgia business owners usually choose an amount of $500 to minimize the amount of money they must pay for the business license.
If you have a business where you sell alcohol; if you are a barber; or if you are another kind of professional, an additional license may be required. Contact the Georgia Department of Revenue or Secretary of State to determine if additional licenses are required before you open your doors for business.
- Georgia state contour with Capital City against blurred USA flag image by Stasys Eidiejus from Fotolia.com