Though the state of Pennsylvania has no statutory laws that require electricians to acquire a license, many of the state's 2,565 municipalities require some form of licensure or certification for its electricians. An example is the city of Pittsburgh, which requires its electricians to be licensed by the Bureau of Building Inspection. The steps to obtain a license in Pittsburgh are common throughout the state of Pennsylvania. Eligibility and testing are the basis for receiving licensure.

Things You Will Need
  • High school diploma

  • Electrician's school certification

  • Computer with internet access

  • ICC test scores

  • Electrician Contractor Registration Application

  • Driver's license or state-issued photo ID

  • Testing fee ($100)

  • Municipality filing fees (if required)

  • Business trade certificates, articles of incorporation. or tax forms (if applicable)

  • Insurance certificate


Step 1.

Contact your municipality's building-inspection office to confirm specific eligibility requirements. Be prepared to prove that you graduated from high school, have certification from an electrical wiring school, and have at least two years of experience as an electrician.

Step 2.

Log onto to register for the International Code Council's contractors/trade examination. Be sure to specify a date and location to take your test. Pay the $100 fee. Take the test and wait to receive the results in the mail.

Step 3.

Pick up an application to register as an electrical contractor from your municipality's building-inspection office. Complete the application and return it with your test results (if you passed). Also, provide a copy of your driver's license or state photo ID.

Step 4.

If you own a business, bring any documentation such as incorporation forms, business trade-name certificates, or tax forms that confirm your business name and address. Stop by your municipality's finance or business registration office and obtain a city tax ID number. Give them a copy of your insurance certificate, which should be for $300,000. If you do not have one, contact an insurance provider to obtain business liability insurance.