Starting a small painting business in North Carolina requires only one license or certification. A larger painting business with more employees will require the owner to check into tax laws and disability insurance.
As of April 2010, the Environmental Protection Agency requires that all people dealing with lead-based paint become certified in its handling and disposal. Classes are eight hours and cost from $200 to $500, depending on who is conducting the class. Go to the EPA's web site to find where the classes are taught.
All businesses in North Carolina must specify a business location for filing state income tax and for paying self-employment tax. The painting business address can be an office, shop or home address. A tax ID number or Social Security number also is needed.
General Contractor License
You must have a general contractor license to bid on and accept paint jobs that cost $30,000 or more and to hire additional employees. In addition, taxes must be withheld and disability offered for employees. Check with the North Carolina Licensing Board for the requirements for becoming a general contractor.
North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors 3739 National Drive, Suite 225 Raleigh, NC 27612 919-571-4183 nclbgc.org
Cheryl Carpinello has taught high school English for 20 years. Her writing instruction has included analytical essays, persuasive essays, and major persuasive research papers. She has also published a middle grade novel, "Guinevere: On the Eve of Legend," which introduces young readers to Arthurian Legend.