Electricians specialize in installing and repairing electrical systems in all types of buildings. In Texas, as in other states, in order to practice the profession, electricians must undergo classroom and apprenticeship training plus pass an exam in order to receive a state license. Electricians who move to the state from other parts of the country can receive an electrician license if their previous state has a reciprocity agreement with Texas. Five states have reciprocity agreements with Texas, four for journeymen certification and one for master certification..
In Texas a journeyman electrician is someone who has completed at least 8,000 hours of supervised job training under a master electrician or a master sign electrician. A journeyman must also earn a passing score on the state’s journeyman electrician exam. Texas has journeyman reciprocity agreements with Arkansas, Idaho, New Mexico and Wyoming. The requirements are similar for each state.
Journeyman Reciprocity Rules
All new residents from the states with journeyman reciprocity agreements must pay a license fee, complete the state’s reciprocity form and present the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) with a copy of their previous state’s license. The reciprocity application is available online. You must indicate on the form if you have a criminal history or have any disciplinary action in your electrician record in your former state. Formers residents of Idaho, New Mexico and Wyoming must also present a letter of good standing from their former home state. The letter must also indicate that the journeyman successfully passed the state exam for electrical work. A sample letter of good standing is available on the TDRL website. States may require journeymen to pay a fee in order to obtain a letter. All of the application materials must be sent to TDLR in one envelope. The mailing address is on the reciprocity form.
A master electrician under Texas law is more senior than a journeyman and has completed at least 12,000 hours of supervised job training under a master electrician. Master electricians must also hold a journeyman’s license for two years before applying to take the master electrician exam. Louisiana is the only state with a master electrician reciprocity agreement with Texas.
Texas-Louisiana Reciprocity Rules
Former residents of Louisiana must pay a license fee, complete the master electrician reciprocity form, present the TDLR with a valid master electrician license from their former locale and present a letter of good standing issued on the letterhead of the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors (www.lslbc.louisiana.gov). Louisiana charges a fee for this service. The application form for Texas is available online and, as with journeyman, you must indicate on the form if you have criminal history or have any disciplinary action on your electrician record in your former state.
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation: Electrical Safety and Licensing Frequently Asked Questions
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation: Electrician Licensing
- Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation: Online Licensing Services
- Louisiana State Licensing Board For Contractors: Frequently Asked Questions