A bail bonding business pledges money to ensure the appearance of criminal defendants in court. A customer typically pays a non-refundable 10 percent of his bond amount to the business, which guarantees payment in full to the court if the defendant fails to appear. Since the establishment of the first bail bond business in the U.S. in 1898, the bail process has been controversial. Illinois, Kentucky, Oregon and Wisconsin have banned commercial bail bonding.
Obtain a license to work as a bail bond agent in Georgia from the sheriff's office in your county. You must be 18 years old, a resident of Georgia for a year before you file the application and not have a felony conviction. Each county has its own statutes regulating bail licensing, and the sheriff is the final authority. You may have to complete criminal justice courses.
Register your business with the Georgia Secretary of State if you’re not going to be a sole proprietorship. You’ll have to decide on a business structure--such as a corporation, limited liability company (LLC) or partnership.
Obtain an employer identification number (EIN), also known as an employer tax ID number, from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). You can apply for one at the IRS website, using Form SS-4
Register for state taxes with the Georgia Department of Revenue. Georgia businesses are required to register tax-specific identification numbers, licenses and permits, including income tax withholding, sales and use taxes, and unemployment insurance tax.
- old jail image by Tracy Horning from Fotolia.com