If you want to serve or sell liquor in Kansas, you will need to obtain the proper permits and meet the zoning requirements for your city and county--and, of course, you will have to get a Kansas liquor license. It's a process that involves many steps and, of course, a fair amount of paperwork. But if you meet the eligibility requirements and follow the instructions, you might win approval within a month after you file the paperwork.
Request a Kansas liquor license application packet from the Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control.
Review the information thoroughly. Aside from instructions, the packet includes a checklist of items you need for your application. Pay especially close to this information and follow the directions included for completion.
Check the statutory requirements for on-premise licenses. There are many guidelines you must meet to be eligible for a license. For instance, if you are under the age of 21 or have been convicted of a felony, you are ineligible for a license. There are further guidelines you'll also need to check.
Determine the type of license you require for your business. There are many categories, and it's essential to identify the most appropriate one.
Provide proof of property ownership or lease arrangements. The ABC requires a deed or purchase agreement to be on file. If you are renting the facility, include a copy of the lease.
Include information about the ownership conditions of your business. The ABC needs to know if your business is a corporation, C corporation, partnership, LLC, LLP, LP, general partnership or individually owned business. Include proof of this ownership arrangement.
Create a diagram of your business for your application. The location, the dimensions and details need to be included in your diagram.
Take form ABC-280-8 Zoning to your county clerk or city clerk for completion. This form is not one that you fill out.
Complete all paperwork as instructed. If anything is left out or not fully completed, your application will be rejected.
Pay the license fee, registration fee and tax bond. Your license fee will range from $50 to $1,600, depending on the type of business you want to have.
Double-check for errors and submit your application for your liquor license in Kansas. You can mail it, fax it or deliver it in person. Information about how to do this is specified on the application.
Wait 30 days for approval. The ABC has up to 30 days to grant your license.
When you get your liquor license, post it. The ABC requires you to post your license in a "conspicuous" place inside your business once you receive it.
Don't lie on your application--the ABC will submit your information to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation for a background check.
- Don't lie on your application--the ABC will submit your information to the Kansas Bureau of Investigation for a background check.
Vicki Wright, writing and editing professionally since 1996, has extensive business management, marketing and media experience. Wright has a Bachelor of Science in socio-poltical communication from Missouri State University and became certified as a leadership facilitator from the Kansas Leadership Center in 2010.