Anyone wishing to work as an HVAC contractor in the state of Florida must be licensed through the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. Although Florida stays relatively warm year-round, most homes are heated, particularly in northern Florida. Still, you only need a certified air conditioning contractor license to work as an HVAC technician.
HVAC is an acronym used to describe technicians who work in the heating and air conditioning industry. HVAC stands for "heating, ventilation and air conditioning." Whether working in a residential or commercial setting, HVAC is a highly specialized industry and most states, including Florida, require proper licensing.
An applicant must be at least 18 years of age and of good moral character. Applicants must provide proof of worker's compensation coverage as well as financial responsibility. The applicant will also need to pay a fee that will vary depending on the license and the sections of the examination required. Fees can be found on the application form located on the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulations website. (see Resources)
All applicants for a HVAC license in Florida must fill out the application and submit it to the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulations. The applicant must pay the required fees at that time and register for the required examinations.
All HVAC applicants must pass the required examinations to become certified. A basic HVAC license in Florida will require that the applicant pass the business and finance examination as well as the trade knowledge examination. As of 2010, the examinations were offered six times per year.
Renee Booker has been writing professionally since 2009 and was a practicing attorney for almost 10 years. She has had work published on Gadling, AOL's travel site. Booker holds a Bachelor of Arts in political science from Ohio State University and a Juris Doctorate from Indiana University School of Law.