A Michigan limited liability company (LLC) must comply with the state's Limited Liability Act 23 of 1993. Under the act, you must renew your company's status each year by filing an annual statement with the state. If you fail to do so for two years, your LLC will no longer be in good standing in Michigan and your company's name will become available for others to use. Each year, all registered LLCs are sent a pre-printed annual statement form about 90 days before it is due. A company must ensure that all of the information is correct and report any changes in its directors or address.
Renew the status of your Michigan LLC each year to remain in good standing with the Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth. You must file your annual statement with the department's Bureau of Commercial Services Corporate Division by Feb. 15, beginning the year after incorporation. Filing may be done online or by mail. Online filing is available beginning about 90 days before the due date.
Pay the filing fee. As of 2011, Michigan charges $25 per annual statement. Fees must be paid by Feb. 15. Payments can be made by check or money order. Online payments can be made by Visa or MasterCard.
Restore your LLC to good-standing status. You can file a Certificate of Restoration of Good Standing along with all unfiled annual statements. Your company will be required to pay the $25 fee for each annual statement submitted. Additionally, your LLC must pay $50 for the certificate. If you submit the certificate after Feb. 15, you will have to pay an additional $25 fee.
- If you misplace your pre-printed annual statement form, contact the Bureau of Commercial Services Corporate Division for a replacement. You can download pre-printed statements from the website of the Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth. Companies formed after Sept. 30 aren't required to file annual statements by Feb. 15 immediately following their formation.
- George Doyle/Stockbyte/Getty Images