How to Start a Trucking Business in Texas
The trucking business requires skill, ingenuity, energy and keeping up-to-date on federal and state rules and regulations. It is important to know these laws before starting a trucking company. In Texas, there are specific permits required in addition to licenses. You may end up spending a lot of money if you do not have the proper knowledge. And fixing these issues is time spent away from earning money on the road.
Select a name for your business and decide on the type of trucking business you want to start. Is it a heavy truck and tractor business, or light or delivery service truck business? Get the equipment that you will need for your business. If you do not have enough funds, look for more sources so that you can get what you need before starting operations, including vehicles and equipment.
Get a Commercial Drivers License (CDL). There are different types of classes for the commercial license: Class A, Class B and Class C. There are several requirements for the CDL. Your employees should also have a CDL, since they will be doing most of the driving.
Obtain a business license. Apply for a truck company license from the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation.The application fee is $350 and an additional fee of $75 for each truck that your business owns. There are other permits that you will need, including the BOC-3, IFTA License, and Federal Heavy Highway Use Tax among others. Also, obtain insurance for your company and vehicles.
Advertise your business. Market yourself and your services. Build a basic website. You can advertise on the radio, in local newspapers or give out flyers. Offer discounts and promotions to new clients to your business.
Make sure you do thorough research on the licenses and permits you will need, especially if you will be transporting items across states.