NEMA Certification

by Allyson Ash ; Updated September 26, 2017
NEMA helps set standards for electrical safety.

The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) is a voluntary trade association for the electrical manufacturing industry. Founded in 1926, it has about 450 member companies that manufacture products used in the generation, transmission and distribution, control and use of electricity.


The organization utilizes development of standards as well as advocacy on federal and state levels to promote competitiveness throughout the electrical product industry in the United States. It also collects and analyzes economic data.


The association’s standards include products, processes or procedures that include at least one of the following: nomenclature, or naming or designation; composition; construction; dimensions; tolerances safety, operating characteristics; performance; ratings; testing; and the service for which it is designated, according to NEMA. Association members believe good technical standards benefit everyone.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Techwalla
Brought to you by Techwalla


Although NEMA does not specifically provide product or provider certification, it does provide an extensive listing of testing and certification labs that provide certification. These laboratories are broken down into three schemes – national certification bodies and accepted certification bodies, which are internationally recognized; and national-recognized testing laboratories, which are recognized by the U.S. Department of Labor's Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA). Some are recognized by more than one scheme.

About the Author

Allyson Ash has worked in journalism for more than 20 years, covering topics from food to health care to entertainment. She has been published in a variety of newspapers, including the "Dallas Morning News," and on various websites.

Photo Credits

Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article