State of New Jersey Esthetician License Requirements

by Laura Bramble - Updated September 26, 2017

Nearly all states require estheticians to hold a separate license to perform skin care services, though many states also allow cosmetologists to perform skin care services under the scope of their license. New Jersey has certain requirements for all estheticians who practice in their state in order to ensure a basic level of knowledge and competence. This helps prevent harm to clients and provides a regulatory basis for the maintenance of industry standards by the state government.

Minimum Requirements

In order to obtain a license as an esthetician in the state of New Jersey, you must meet certain minimum conditions. Applicants must be at least 17 years of age and hold a high school diploma or GED. Applicants must successfully complete a minimum of 600 hours in a state approved esthetics course from a state-approved school.

Licensing Exam

All applicants for an esthetics license have to take and pass a state board-sponsored exam. The exam consists of a written portion and a practical portion. The practical portion is where you show you have mastered the skills needed to provide safe and effective services to their clients. The passing grade on both portions is a 75. The state board permits retakes of failed portions.

Video of the Day

Brought to you by Techwalla
Brought to you by Techwalla

Curriculum Standards

The state holds minimum curriculum standards for approved esthetics programs. You must complete classes in state laws and regulations, as well as health and safety, and infection control so that you have the knowledge to practice their craft safely and legally. Anatomy, physiology, nutrition, skin care chemistry and the structure of the skin are covered so that you understand the hows and whys behind procedures and products. Practical courses such as body and facial procedures, basic and corrective makeup techniques, utilization of machines and electrical equipment, and hair removal teach you how to perform the basic services expected by employers and clients. Professional courses focusing on professionalism, job skills and business practices inform you about what to expect in the field, as well as what prospective employers expect of you.

Out-of-State Reciprocal Licensing

Esthetics licensees from other states are able to get a license in New Jersey if they have completed at least 600 hours in a comparable educational program. If you have a license from another state, you must present a transcript of your educational training along with your application. If you have who have practiced for at least three years in the state you are transferring from, you do not have to show transcripts if you provide a notarized affidavit of your job experience and a license certification letter from you state board. You must also take and pass the licensing exam.

Apprenticeship Licensing

Many states allow apprenticeship programs, where students study under approved licensed professionals in a spa or salon setting. Typically, apprenticeships require completion of significantly more hours than traditional schools—as much as double the hours. New Jersey, however, does not sponsor or recognize a sponsorship program in its state.

Photo Credits

  • Hemera Technologies/Photos.com/Getty Images
Cite this Article A tool to create a citation to reference this article Cite this Article